Useful Bash Scripts?

Get your foo on.

Useful Bash Scripts?

Postby Bukimari » June 12th, 2015, 6:27 am

So I recently got into some basic bash scripting and now I find myself loving the fact that the terminal can do things I never thought it could. I guess what this post is about is are there any bash scripts that you use that simplify certain tasks or just do cool things? The coolest thing I think I have is a script I wrote that autostarts when I login that displays Screenfetch and then asks if I would like to update the system. I can choose 'y' or 'n' but if I hit some weird key for some reason it will just loop until I hit the right thing. Note: I'm new to this scripting stuff (I just Googled how to do most of it and used basic trial and error processes), so if I've made any mistakes or there's a simpler way of doing something please let me know.

screenfetch-script
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash

echo
screenfetch

update=1
echo -n "Welcome back `whoami`, would you like to update the system? (Y,n)"
while [ $update = 1 ]; do

read update
if [[ $update == "y" || $update == "Y" ]]
then
   update
else
   if [[ $update == "n" || $update == "N" ]]
   then
      read -p "Update bypassed, press any key to exit..." -n1 junk
   else
      echo -n "Command not recognized, update all systems? (Y,n)"
      update=1
   fi
fi
done

update (referred to in line 13 of screenfetch-script)
#! /bin/bash

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
dist=1
echo -n "Perform dist-upgrade as well?(y,N)"
while [ $dist = 1 ]; do

read dist
if [[ $dist == "y" || $dist == "Y" ]]
then
   sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
   read -p "Update completed, press any key to exit..." -n1 junk
else
   if [[ $dist == "n" || $dist == "N" ]]
   then
   else
      echo -n "Command not recognized, perform dist-upgrade? (y,N)"
      dist=1
   fi
fi
done