Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Post your questions about Refracta here.

Re: Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Postby fsmithred » July 12th, 2019, 10:54 pm

I did a netinstall of Buster, standard system utilities only, in virtualbox. Then I added xorg, openbox, lxdm and a few other things. Very few, no recommends. Added latest versions of refractasnapshot and installer and deps.

Ran snapshot with -d option. I could see that it removed conf/conf.d/resume from the initrd. Snapshot completed without error, and the iso boots.

The installed system's initrd is gzip compressed. The initrd inside the live system (in /boot) is gzip compressed. The initrd in the /live directory in the iso (the one that boots the live system) is gzip compressed.

You must have been hit by some glitch. I have no good ideas what that could be. Check the sha256sum on the iso to make sure it was a good download.
fsmithred
 
Posts: 361
Joined: February 11th, 2011, 4:14 am

Re: Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Postby fsmithred » July 13th, 2019, 9:42 am

More on my Buster install...

Code: Select all
apt install intel-microcode
file -L /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-5-amd64
/boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-5-amd64: ASCII cpio archive (SVR4 with no CRC)


I assume you did the same at some point.
Use 10.2.0 for now if that works.

What's in your resume file? (conf/conf.d/resume in initrd.img)
Does it contain a uuid or does it say "none"?
Do you have a swap partition?
fsmithred
 
Posts: 361
Joined: February 11th, 2011, 4:14 am

Re: Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Postby fsmithred » July 13th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Try this one:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/refracta/misc ... ot-mod.txt

Download it, copy it to /usr/bin/refractasnapshot
Make it executable and run it 'refractasnapshot -d'

Note: Before you run it, edit /etc/refractasnapshot.conf and set save_work="yes". That way, if we need to make more changes to the initrd, you can just repack the iso without re-squashing. That takes less than a minute as opposed to however long it takes to run the whole thing. (10-40 minutes in my experience)

Edit: If you (or anyone else) are using Refracta or other distro that defaults to xz compression on the initrd, use this one instead:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/refracta/misc ... t-mod2.txt
fsmithred
 
Posts: 361
Joined: February 11th, 2011, 4:14 am

Re: Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Postby fsmithred » July 14th, 2019, 6:09 pm

New version is available here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/refracta/files/tools/
and also in devuan ceres repo.

refractasnapshot- 10.2.6

* Change /dev/shm from symlink to directory. (Debian bug #851427)
* extract_initrd() now works with microcode.
* Removed old nocrypt.sh script.
fsmithred
 
Posts: 361
Joined: February 11th, 2011, 4:14 am

Re: Debian 10 Buster - Rrefractasnapshot decompression error

Postby fsmithred » July 16th, 2019, 10:45 pm

DOH! Fix typos on lines 333 and 337 of refractasnapshot and lines 393 and 397 of refractsnapshot-gui. Then it should work. New version will be packaged soon (look for 10.2.9 or later)
i.e.
Code: Select all
333/393      /"$initrd_image"  -->  "$initrd_image"
337/397      /initrd.img      -->   "$initrd_image"



In context:
Code: Select all
   elif [ "$COMPRESSION" = "cpio archive" ]; then
      echo "Archive is cpio archive..."
      (cpio -i ; zcat | cpio -i) < "$initrd_image"
      exit_code="$?"
      if [ "$exit_code" -ne 0 ] ; then
         rm -r *
         (cpio -i ; xzcat | cpio -i) < "$initrd_image"
         exit_code="$?"
         if [ "$exit_code" -ne 0 ] ; then
            echo "Decompression error" && exit 1
         else
            COMPRESSION="XZ compressed"
fsmithred
 
Posts: 361
Joined: February 11th, 2011, 4:14 am

Previous

Return to Refracta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 1 guest

x