Firefox 45 ESR is here

Discussion of technology related topics including news, events, and announcements.

Firefox 45 ESR is here

Postby Monsie » June 10th, 2016, 2:01 am

Hi all,

In case you have not checked for updates, the package that converts Iceweasel to Firefox arrived today. The installation went smoothly for me. All I had to do was to move the old Iceweasel shortcut to trash and create a new shortcut for Firefox in my desktop folder.

While I liked Iceweasel, I found in recent weeks that some websites were having issues with this browser, telling me that it was old, unrecognized, and recommending that I install a modern conventional browser... Hmmm, I noticed that Internet Explorer was on that list... :roll:

So, I feel that Firefox for debian is a welcome change and perhaps it signals a change of policy for the debian project in terms of the kinds of software that can be included in a default installation. That said, I am not an expert with the licensing of code, nor am I up to date with debian politics. Hopefully though, this change is seen by most users as a move in the right direction.

Monsie
My username is pronounced: "Munsee" and is based on my nick name in High School.
Monsie

Re: Firefox 45 ESR is here

Postby cynwulf » June 13th, 2016, 1:23 pm

Monsie wrote:While I liked Iceweasel, I found in recent weeks that some websites were having issues with this browser, telling me that it was old, unrecognized, and recommending that I install a modern conventional browser...

Most likely down to user agent, I was sure they fixed that years ago by including "like firefox" in the user agent string? Probably since v3.5.x in Debian squeeze or whatever...

Monsie wrote:perhaps it signals a change of policy for the debian project in terms of the kinds of software that can be included in a default installation

It's an old change of policy, unless I'm missing something this is just the removal of the branding so far I can tell?